Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) role in Indian Legal System 2014-2024

Since 2014, when the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came to power in India, its government under Prime Minister Narendra Modi has significantly transformed the country’s legal landscape. Here are some key initiatives and changes during this period:

  • Abrogation of Article 370:

In 2019, the Modi government abrogated Article 370 of the Indian Constitution, which revoked the autonomy and special status of the state of Jammu and Kashmir.

The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir was converted into two union territories: Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh

The Indian Supreme Court upheld the government’s decision to abrogate Section 370 in the case “In Re: Article 370 of the Constitution,” although it directed the government to restore the statehood of Jammu and Kashmir as soon as possible.

This decision strengthened the powers of the central government vis-à-vis the states, emphasizing India’s unity as a single, sovereign indivisible state1.

  • National Litigation Policy:

The BJP promised to strengthen India’s judicial system to ensure quicker disposal of cases in the courts.

The 2014 manifesto included a commitment to implement a “National Litigation Policy” aimed at reducing the average pendency time of cases

Overall, the BJP government’s legal agenda focused on centralizing power, enhancing national security, modernizing personal laws, and addressing historical and constitutional issues. These changes have significantly shaped India’s legal system during the past decade.

  • Certainly! During the period from 2014 to 2024, the BJP government in India implemented several significant legal reforms. Here are some of the major ones:

  1. Goods and Services Tax (GST):

    • In 2017, India introduced the GST, a comprehensive indirect tax system that replaced multiple state and central taxes.
    • The GST aimed to simplify taxation, promote ease of doing business, and create a unified market across the country.
  2. Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (IBC):

    • The IBC was enacted in 2016 to address insolvency and bankruptcy issues.
    • It streamlined the process for resolving corporate insolvencies and facilitated faster resolution of distressed assets.
  3. Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Act (RERA):

    • RERA, passed in 2016, aimed to regulate the real estate sector.
    • It increased transparency, protected homebuyers’ interests, and ensured timely completion of real estate projects.
  4. Triple Talaq Ban:

    • In 2019, the government criminalized the practice of instant triple talaq (divorce) among Muslim men.
    • This move aimed to protect the rights of Muslim women and ensure gender equality.
  5. Amendments to Personal Laws:

    • The government amended personal laws, including the Hindu Succession Act and the Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Act.
    • These changes aimed to provide equal rights to women in matters of inheritance and divorce.
  6. National Judicial Appointments Commission (NJAC):

    • Although the NJAC Act was struck down by the Supreme Court, the government attempted to reform the process of judicial appointments by involving the executive and legislative branches.
  7. Digitalization of Courts:

    • The government focused on digitizing court processes, case management, and e-filing to improve efficiency and reduce delays.
  8. Criminal Law Amendments:

    • The Criminal Law (Amendment) Act, 2018, introduced stricter penalties for sexual offenses against children.
    • It also expanded the definition of rape and included provisions for the death penalty in certain cases.

These reforms reflect the government’s efforts to modernize India’s legal system, enhance transparency, and protect citizens’ rights.

Post a Comment